Boston with pride

This morning I had an awesome and fun 17 Miler! I left my apartment in Cambridge at 5:30 AM and run to the Chestnut Hill Reservoir as I’ve been doing for my long runs in the past few months, but this time instead of turning right on Commonwealth Avenue toward Heartbreak Hill I  turned left on Beacon Street and run the last 4/5 miles of the Boston Marathon’s course!  Since last week I did the first 21.5 miles of the course, today I wanted to finish up the course so I could visualize it!  I was such an amazing and energizing feeling seeing the Citgo Sign and Fenway Park, I started to go faster!  I was having so much fun when I slightly up ahead I saw the Hereford Street sign, I knew I was really close to the end of the course now.   I turned right on Hereford Street ( a sharp turn on a pretty narrow street) and left on Boylston Street. I passed the Prudential and all the big stores until I finally reached the Marathon Sport store  where I could see the faded Finish Line.  At the Marathon store I noticed a digital clock, it was counting down the days to the Boston Marathon…15 Days 3 Hours and 3 Minutes and that gave me chills! I headed back home on the Charles all happy and satisfied, now I could visualize the entire course, it was a very nice feeling!

The first place winner in Grade 12 at Hopkinton High School by Sarah Bentley

After that my wonderful husband took me to the Marathon Sports in Wellesley to finally buy THE Boston Marathon jacket! No worries, superstitious me is keeping it securely in the plastic bag until I cross that finish line.

These jackets are the icon for the Boston Marathon runners and have a high quality embroidered Boston Athletic Association logo on them.  However, I just found out that this year the logo is silk screened, not embroidered as usually is and Adidas is claiming it was an error.  Oh well, mistakes happens I am still happy with my Jacket.

 

2011 Boston Marathon Jacket

 

15 Days….


Leave a Reply

