My Healthy Morning Smoothie

My favorite way to start my morning is with a run followed by a smoothie of some sort, balancing complex carbs with protein that powers me through the morning and  allows me to take in my  daily fruit serving.  I absolutely love smoothies and starting your morning with fruit is one of the best treats for your body.  My smoothies are usually made up of yogurt, soy protein powder (you can use whey if you like), whatever type of fruit – fresh and frozen  – I feel like that morning, and orange juice.

Currently I am in love with this Mango Orange Smoothie recipe.

 Ingredients:

1 small banana
1 cup frozen mango chunks
1/2 cup orange juice
1 Dannon Light & Fit vanilla yogurt
1 scoop vanilla flavored soy protein powder
Optional: ground flax seeds (for fiber and omega 3s) & wheat germ

Directions:

I place all the ingredients in the tall cup of my Magic Bullet, I mix it for 2 minutes and drink it with a smile=)

Mango Orange Smoothie

This mango smoothie recipe is one of my favorites. The citrus flavor in the orange juice balances the tart flavor of the mango. Yogurt’s is loaded with vitamins (An 8 oz serving contains 1.4 micrograms of the vitamin, about 60% of what adult women need daily) and got power-boosting protein and bone-building calcium. Mangos are a good source of vitamins A and C, both important antioxidant nutrients, as well as potassium and fiber. Mangos are also rich in poly-phenolic flavonoid antioxidant compounds, which are believed to protect against breast and colon cancer.

Mmmmmango

What’s not to love?

This smoothie is packed with lots of great nutrients, is delicious, and will keep you satisfied all morning long while promoting clean skin, and a strong immune system.

Finding your favorite smoothie might be a process of experiment and error.  Try a bunch of ingredients you think you might like and just keep playing until you find the perfect smoothie for you.

I heard a lot of buzz about green smoothies (smoothies that have greens like spinach, kale, romaine, etc. in them) so next I definitely want to try to add greens to my fruit smoothies.

What’s your favorite smoothie?

2 thoughts on “My Healthy Morning Smoothie

  1. that sounds like the perfect smoothie for the morning. Lately, my favorite smoothie has been frozen cherries, frozen banana, skim milk, vanilla whey protein powder, ground flax seeds, pure vanilla extract. It is so delicious and comes out super thick! I love the consistency that protein powder brings to smoothies! also, i do love to add spinach to my smoothies….extra nutrients and you can’t taste it at all!

  2. That sounds delicious too! And I agree that the protein powder give the smoothie the perfect and smooth consistency. I am happy to hear that you don’t really taste the spinach when you add them=) I am so gonna try to add veggie next..it’s so nutritious and hopefully delicious lol

Leave a Reply

