Things I Love Thursday

“Gratitude is the heart’s memory.”

I have been wanting to start this weekly post for a bit.  So welcome to my  first Things I love Thursday aka Thankful Thursday!

Awhile ago, in class I learned the benefits of keeping a gratitude journal and when my coach suggested me to start one I didn’t think twice about it and jumped into this new journey.  In this weekly post I will take some of the things I was thankful for the week and share them with you.  But before I do that let me explain what a gratitude journal is and what are the benefits of keeping one, hopefully it will make you want to start one!

My Gratitude Journal...Thanks Laura=)

Gratitude journals are exactly what they’re called – journals of gratitude!  It is like a diary, but you’re only allowed to write positive things in it.  Everyday  before bedtime, but anytime will do, write at least FIVE things that you are grateful for that day.

What should you write about?  Here is what I do:  I chose a beautiful small blank notebook that I knew I would enjoy writing in.  But any notebook would work.  The choice of your journal is not important except that it should make you want to write in it.  If you like a particular color, feel of the paper, or fabric covering the notebook go with that.  I write for 5-10 minutes every night before I go to bed, consciously looking for things I am grateful for.  Some days my list will be filled with amazing things, most days just simple joys.  You can write things like  I am grateful for my husband, family, my friends, and my pup, for running…things like that, the everyday happenings.

I found that writing a gratitude journal on good days is easy, but on the bad days, when you feel depressed, fed up, frustrated, it’s much harder  to find things you are grateful for  because your  thoughts are negative.  And that’s when you need to be writing it the most!  Don’t give up,  you can just write I am grateful that the day is over=)  Experts say that it takes 40 days to create a habit. So, if you can write for 40 days and not miss a day, you will create a wonderful new habit.  An important thing to remember is that everything you write in your journal MUST BE POSITIVE.

By looking for things that you are grateful for each day you automatically start seeing the positive side of everything. You begin to focus on what you have rather than what you don’t. Centering your life on gratitude you can a shift in your thinking to the positive and gain awareness of what’s great in your life. Everything seems a little easier, and brighter, you are more open to opportunities when they arise and you start to focus on what you have rather than what you don’t. You got the idea.

Here’s my Things I love Thursday where I will write things I am grateful for the week.  But I will only randomly pick Ten Things…Thursday =D

I am grateful for….

  1. Dustin to make me laugh while singing and dancing with me in the kitchen
  2. Running and feeling good
  3. Skype
  4. Finally being able to sit down, relax and cuddle with my hubby and puppy to watch the last two episodes of Glee
  5. Luna play time with Penny, Piper and Nina
  6. Watching Dustin playing Softball
  7. Amazing and inspirational Vision Board party with my loved ones
  8. Laura & Bob for go above and beyond to help us
  9. Amanda & Laura to subscribe to my blog=))
  10. Taking four classes in one day

So, go ahead, start creating your gratitude journal, get on your path to  happiness. You will be amazed what the journal will do for you!

“Gratitude unlocks the fullness of life. It turns what we have into enough, and more. It turns denial into acceptance, chaos to order, confusion to clarity. It can turn a meal into a feast, a house into a home, a stranger into a friend. Gratitude makes sense of our past, brings peace for today and creates a vision for tomorrow.” ~ Melody Beattie

2 thoughts on “Things I Love Thursday

  1. I am grateful for your continued love and motivation! I am grateful for having you, your energy, and your continued discipline to inspire us!! Love, Laura L

Leave a Reply

