Sunday Special Guest Blog

I am so excited to announce my very first “Special Sunday Guest Blog”!  I thought I would be fun to recruit a few of my favorite people to write guest posts about different topics or just to share their stories.  I will be featuring one every month on a random Sunday.  And since today is Father’s Day, I am pleased to offer a very special guest.  I am honored to have my wonderful husband Dustin as my first guest blogger today!  I asked him if he would write a post, offering his thoughts on his dad Tom. Over to you, Amore Mio:

Dustin & Tom

“Natascia asked me to be a “guest blogger” for her this father’s day so I figured it was only fitting to write about my Dad.  A lot can be said about that bond that a Father and a Son have, and what I have with my Dad is no exception.  When I was growing up I was fortunate to have a lot in common with my Dad and that allowed us to spend a lot of time together as well.  In the beginning it was him coaching me and my Brother in baseball and basketball, he even learned quite a bit about soccer so he could ref some games and also understand what he was watching me do out there.  We’d also take some great skiing trips together, and even though we decided to snowboard and make him wait at the top of the lifts he never complained about that.  When I was old enough to have my own car he was always there to help me with the maintenance, I still remember him showing me how to change the starter…and before that how to jump start the car (hence the reason for the starter).  This is just the tip of the iceberg; I could go on and on.  He always made me feel as though I had a fan, and I always had someone to try my hardest for, whether he knew it or not.  But now it’s my turn to let him know how proud I am of him, and that I am indeed his biggest fan.


My Dad, Tom, had always been a natural athlete and played a number of sports and other activities.  I can honestly say that I learned a lot of what I know on the field and court from him.  But it isn’t until recently that I’ve been able to see him become passionate about something new and transform that into something that has truly changed his life and will be something he can enjoy for years to come.  A few years ago he injured his knee quite bad while skiing and had to have some pretty invasive surgery to fix it.  After he was able to be active again he started biking for rehab, whether it be at home on his stationary, or on his new Raleigh hybrid that he got he was sure to try to get out there every day.  At first it was just that, rehab, but as time went on he really took to being on his bike and you could see a new passion brewing.  And let me tell you, when this guy gets passionate about something he goes all in, just like skiing when he decided to build himself a house about a mile away from the base lodge at Sunday River.  With the biking he started getting more involved in charity rides and group rides, and just like when I was a kid and had to be “just like dad” I went out and bought a new bike myself and did some rides with him.  

Dustin & Tom riding on the "Pedal to the Port"

One thing he was doing on all these rides though is he was still doing them on his trusty hybrid, that if anyone knows biking, although they are quite comfortable, they are also a lot more work for these long road tours.  This allowed me to get him what I thought was the perfect father’s day gift at the time in 2009, a vintage 1798 Peugeot road bike.  This thing was and still is pretty, and was great to get him started off with a road bike and also something that he can always have that hopefully will remind him of that father’s day.  Here I am rambling on, but this is getting me to the moral of the story.  I wanted to take this time to share just how proud I am of my Dad’s latest accomplishment which he just completed today.  He decided to ride in the Trek across Maine, which is a 180 Mile bike ride over 3 days that starts in Newry Maine (yes that’s where the ski house is, how convenient) all the way to Belfast which isn’t too far from his house.  This ride was taylor made for him and also so cool that is ends on father’s day.  He asked me to do the ride with him, but with work and all and my crazy schedule I was unable to, which I am really upset about because talk about a great way to spend father’s day with your dad, not to mention get back into shape just as he has.  But now I have a year to plan ahead and I already know he will be doing the ride again so next year I am in, I am a little worried though that I won’t be able to keep up with the old man I must admit.


So to end this story… I just want to say how proud of you I am dad and how far you have come.  You are an amazing man who has accomplished so much with your life and will continue to as well.  I always have and still do look up to you and I am the luckiest man in the world to have you as my father.  I just hope someday I can have someone to look up to me as I have always looked up to you and that I am able to show a passion for life as you do.  Happy Fathers day Dad, I love you. “

Dustin

"One of these things is not like the other" Team=D

Buona Festa del papa’ Tommaso!  There are no words to describe how proud of you I am.  You are such an inspiration and I feel so lucky to have you in my life and as my “suocero”!  T.V.B

Fun Fact:  Father’s day in Italy is celebrated on  March 19th which is also San Giuseppe- Saint Joseph- father of Jesus! 

Would you like to be my guest blogger? Feel free to contact me for future guest post opportunities!

2 thoughts on “Sunday Special Guest Blog

  1. What a wonderful gift this blog entry is, Dustin. I am reading it through tears. It’s the greatest joy in my life to be able to be an inspiration to those I love so much.

Leave a Reply

