Risotto al Pomodoro ~ Tomato Risotto

Risotto is one of my favorite dish.  When I was little (until I met Dustin & his family really that introduced me to new wonderful foods) I was a very picky eater.  However,  there were few things I absolutely loved, one was gelato (who doesn’t love it) and the other one was risotto.  I remember the excitement and the anticipation of my grandmother visiting as I knew she would cook me my favorite dish, a very simple and “white” risotto.  My dad used to call it “Mangiare per i malati” (Food for the ills) as it was as plain as can be.  Ha ha I definitely can’t call myself a good cook, like most the Italian women I know, but I can say that risotto is one of the few dishes I make that even my mom have me cook it as it is my specialty dish.  Tiramisu’ is another one of my specialty, but that’s another recipe=)  I make all kind of risotto, Dustin’s favorite is the Asparagus one.  The risotto with tomato sauce, that I cooked for us last Wednesday is a very tasty and simple dish to make, and I learned this particular recipe from my sister Samanta, who is a wonderful cook, few summers ago.  Here is the recipe:

Risotto al Pomodoro ~ Tomato Risotto

INGREDIENTS:

For the Vegetable broth:

  • 6 Cups of water
  • A small onion
  • A stalk of celery without leaves
  • A carrot
  • Parsley leaves
  • A clove of garlic

For the Risotto:

  • 1 medium Onion, chopped
  • 1 tbsp Olive oil
  • 6 cup Vegetable broth
  • Dado Classico Star 
  • 1 can Peeled Whole Tomatoes
  • 2 cup Arborio rice
  • 3/4 cup Dry white wine
  • 1 tbsp Basil, fresh, chopped
  • 1/2 cup Parmesan cheese, grated

GARNISH

  • Parmesan cheese
  • Basil, fresh, slivered

EXECUTION

Prepare the broth: After having washed and roughly chopped the vegetables, pour in the pot with cold water and bring to a boil, reduce heat to a low simmer and continue cooking for at least half an hour.  DO NOT SALT.

In a large non-stick saute pan, sauté the onion in the olive oil, until it begins to turn golden.

Saute' the chopped Onions in Olive Oil

In a separate bowl blend the peeled whole tomatoes with a Hand Blender until smooth.  We will call it tomato sauce.

Blend the Whole Tomatoes

Add the rice to the sauteed onion and stir it gently in the pan for about 2 minutes. Pour in the white wine and  let it evaporate.  Add the dado star and the tomato sauce all at once and stir as it is absorbed.

Dado Star from Italy

Start to add a soup ladle of the heated broth and stir, keeping the mixture just at a simmer. Keep stirring until the broth is nearly all
absorbed into the rice.  Continue this way until the rice is al dente.  This process will take about 25 minutes, and at the end a creamy sauce will form around the rice grains that are tender but firm.

Keep adding the Vegetable Broth

At the moment the rice is no longer crunchy, stir in a last ladle of hot broth, and the grated Parmesan cheese.

Almost ready, can you tell from looking at the rice grain?

Serve the risotto at once.   Scatter slivered basil  over each serving, and pass additional Parmesan.

Delizioso!

Buon Appetito!!


At our wedding in Italy they served a Strawberry–Champagne Risotto that I loved so much.  Dustin has been asking me to make it so that will be my next project for me to share with you!

Have a wonderful week end!

2 thoughts on “Risotto al Pomodoro ~ Tomato Risotto

  1. Ha ha not as you are=))) You know what, just for you I will do & share my mom’s recipe Tiramisu’ next week, beside it’s been awhile since I’ve made it…I think it was around Xmas time for Dustin’s boss =D

Leave a Reply

