Race Report: CATZ 5K

Yesterday, my friend/co-worker Fabiana and I ran our first race together and the first CATZ Needham 5K Road Race !  Lululemon Athletica sponsor this great race that was combined with the CATZ Wellness Fair afterwards, with the goal to promote a healthy lifestyle. All the registration’s money  went to Beth Israel Deaconess Hospital’s in Needham, MA funds dispersal to annual campaign.  A pretty good cause right!

Fabiana & I wth the CATZ Director

The race was at 9 AM and Dustin, Luna and I picked up Fabiana around 7:45 AM and by 8:10 AM we had already picked up our number and gift bag and we were ready to go!  It was a gorgeous sunny morning but pretty windy and crispy with temperatures on the mid-5os brrr. We hang around a little and jumper around just to stay warm.

Warming up...check out the leaves colors

Brrrr

We warmed up a bit and before you knew it, it was time to start the race!  We all lined up , the horn went off and off we were.  The race started  on a nice steep hill and finish in the same hill but overall the course was pretty flat.  I felt amazingly good and I was super happy to see  that I bit my own 5k time when I crossed the finish line!

Starting line

.5 miles into the race

Just blew a kiss to my honey

About to cross the finish line

Done

Fabiana did very good too.  This was her second 5k and race overall and she improved by 4 minutes from her first one, and also got a new 5k PR!

Here is Fabiana about to cross that finish line

As always the best fan was Dustin, that with his camera in his hand and Luna cheered on us. Someone from the CATZ, the competitive Athlete Training Zone,  approached him thinking he was from a newspaper… he definitely looked like a reporter ha ha

Dustin & Luna

How did I do?  I came 2nd women overall and  I got a new 5k PR!  I was a very happy girl!

Official Results

Time: 20:49
Women Overall place: 2nd
Overall place: 7th
Average Pace: 6:42

“You have to wonder at times what you’re doing out there. Over the years, I’ve given myself a thousand reasons to keep running, but it always comes back to where it started.  It comes down to selfsatisfaction and a sense of achievement.” ~ Prefontaine

2 thoughts on “Race Report: CATZ 5K

Leave a Reply

