Got Inspiration?

On Sunday, my friend Fabiana successfully completed her first Half Marathon and I couldn’t be more proud of her!  What she said afterwards and a video that her brother shared on her facebook’s wall made me want to write a post about Roger Wright.  Who is Roger Wright? I will tell you in a minute.

Fabiana ready to rock her 1st Half Marathon

First let me share with you Fabiana’s words after finishing her first half, that will introduce you to what this post is all about which is inspiration, motivation and self-determination.  All of us need some empowerment sometimes right! Here you will find the power of hope and courage through an incredible story of someone making a difference in his life.  Fabiana said:

I hate when people say this to me but I’m finding myself believing it today… “If I can do it you can do it…” =) Mission accomplished! Exactly 2 months and 3 weeks ago I made the decision to start running… I ran 30 seconds down the street and thought I was gonna collapse. Progressed weeks later I was doing 12 min miles and determined I was gonna do a half marathon in November.

Today I crossed the finish line to my first 1/2 marathon with a time of 2 hours and 2 min (9min 31 sec per mile) and with the biggest lesson I could take from it; “Whatever you tell your mind you can do, you can do!”

Thank you everyone who helped me train and get through this mental game called running.  Especially you Natascia Armitage! Love ya’ll! =)

What made Fabiana start running and change her diet was finding out that she was borderline diabetic.  Fabiana’s story is similar to Roger Wright with the only difference that Fabiana was not obese and Roger was. Roger’s is a truly inspirational story of how it’s possible to change your life for the better – no matter what obstacles one faces.  He says, simply, “If you really want something bad enough, you really can accomplish it.”

Anyone needing motivation to get in shape or lose those unwanted pounds. Roger Wright’s story will empower you. Read up…

At the age of 47 and due to a lifelong struggle with obesity and failing health, Roger Wright from Needham, MA was faced with a choice:  have a doctor attempt to change his life with gastric bypass surgery OR change his life himself by a complete lifestyle change. On June 7, 2008, even though he could only run 10 yards without stopping to catch his breath, Wright dedicated himself to running the 2009 Boston Marathon (a lifelong goal since he was 7 years old). In the process he hoped to lose 50 pounds and raise $3,000 for Cystic Fibrosis, a disease that his 10-year-old niece Julia suffered from. Ten months later, Wright lost an incredible 113 pounds (277 to 164), ran Boston nonstop in four hours and 45 minutes and raised $11,000 for Cystic Fibrosis. In the process he discovered more about life than he had in his previous 46 years. His story, “Running For My Existence,” is available here, which he created to hold himself accountable as he worked toward his goals.  In three years Roger’s run the Boston Marathon twice, the Cape Cod Marathon, the Phoenix (Ultra/31 Miles), Wakefield, Chicago, FT Worth Cowtown (Ultra/31 Miles), the London Marathon, the Ragnar NE Relay (198 miles), New England Relay (225 miles), Wakefield Ultra (52 Miles), Reach The Beach Relay (200 Miles), and on Sunday Roger run the New York Marathon.

His First Transformation In May of 2008, at the age of 47, three things happened:

  • Health – His doctor called and told him he was now diabetic due to morbid obesity. She had previously suggested gastric bypass surgery (1st time in her career to ANY patient) but with a 3% mortality rate Roger decided against it.
  • Biggest Loser – Roger alternative plan to lose weight was to be on the show Biggest Loser for 2008 (and 2007, and 2006…) was  derailed when his wife found out from friend who was on the show that it had already been cast for the Fall 2008 season.
  • Julia – Roger’s sister in law called to inform him that his 9 year old niece Julia (and the closest thing he has to a daughter) who has Cystic Fibrosis, was back in the hospital and was now on the lung transplant list. Again she was 9 years old…

Based on Roger’s doctors “great news” he was out cooking some ribs on the grill when he  had an epiphany of sorts. Roger’s father had run the Boston Marathon when Roger was 7 and even though Roger had never run more than 1/4 mile in the last 30 years, it had always been a life long goal of his to run it. He decided he could “run/walk” it, lose at least 50 pounds in the process, and raise $3000 for Cystic Fibrosis research in the process.

Here is what Roger’s writes on day one of his journey:

The Journey Begins. Today, Monday June 2nd at 7:30 AM, I opened the side door of my house and stared down upon what I have always considered just a normal step that I take to “Everyday”. But not today. Today the step seemed to stare back at me, almost challenging me, and I knew that once I stepped down off of it, onto the driveway and down the street, my life would forever change.

Here is Roger’s message for you:

I have discovered that regardless of my age (50), previous eating habits, a complete lack of exercise and a sedentary lifestyle, that I have been able to change my life for the better. I have accomplished this simply by changing the way I look at food (I eat to live, not live to eat), started to exercise, no longer accepted excuses and most important, pure desire to help my niece, other people (friends and strangers) and myself. I know it’s cliche to say, but I have discovered that if you really want something bad enough, you really can accomplish it.  You too can change your life for the better. If I can, YOU can!

This is the video that inspired me to write about Roger as I assure you you will get chills seeing the transformation he had the courage to make for himself!  Coldplay song’s Fix you, which I love and always give me chills, plays in the video. Be ready to get enlightened, encouraged and empowered and to believe in the possible, not the impossible!  You’ll leave inspired and prepared to take on the world!

DESIRE: The feeling that accompanies an unsatisfied state.  An inclination to want things. A wish or longing

3 thoughts on “Got Inspiration?

  1. incredibly inspirational. thank you for sharing…we all have DIFFERENT desires, but how beautiful that what we can have in COMMON is that moment when we realize what we need to do in order to start living instead of simply existing.

Leave a Reply

