Foto Friday ~ Project 365: Week 32 Recap

This week was definitely very intense and filled with emotions. It was the end of 2011 and the beginning of 2012. I learned few things this week and had the chance to think about what is really important. I wonder, why occasionally we need a wake up call to remind us who and what matters! I want to share few messages that the wonderful yoga & life teacher, Jacqui Bonwell, shared:

Johnny Cash went for voice lessons when he was young and was told he should never change his natural voice & to stop lessons. I love him & I love that. It’s a great example of stopping & realizing your existing gifts instead of always needing to change things up. Believe it or not, you have willpower & strength, endurance & calm, patience & love…it’s just slowing down enough to hear it sing. Maybe the resolution could be to enjoy yourself AS IS because all the extra effort might just be unnecessary singing lessons.

It’s important to recognize when you’re taking yourself too seriously and then maybe throw on Chaka Khan’s “Ain’t Nobody” and realize that half the stuff we get all wrapped up in is seriously not that huge a deal. We make the description of pain and suffering much bigger in our own minds than it actually is SOME times (with great respect for your pain and suffering I say this.) Let music be a healer and help put things into perspective and pull you out of your own funk. It’s important to feel, but sometimes toxic to wallow.

It is extremely difficult to sit in the depths of discomfort for a situation you can do nothing about. It’s an important process though, the sitting with it…because-then-in a non-reactive way–you have time to sort out the most EFFECTIVE response. One of the most important spaces to widen is the space between how you feel (especially when it’s awful) and what you’re going to do about it. It’s in THAT space that your saving grace lives.

Here are the photos for my  recap of Week 32 of my Project 365:

Photo 217/ 365 ~ Saturday, December 31, 2011

Saturday I started off the day with an early 14 miler with Fabiana, just to finish up the year in style=) Fabiana is training for her first Marathon and this was her longest run ever so I proposed to run together on the Boston Marathon course. Well she struggled a little with the hills but she finished it! After the run I went to work until 6:30pm or so and drove to Maine to see Dustin’s dad, Laura and Ian.

Photo 218/ 365 ~ Sunday, January 1, 2012

We did “Christmas” with Tom & Laura. Luna really loves her grandpa and couldn’t resist but sneaked on his lap when he was trying to open presents. Pretty cute! It was a gorgeous day so we went for a nice walk. It was a very lazy day, it was kind of nice to actually finally stop and do nothing, definitely different from where I’ve been used to, especially the last month or so. Dustin caught me few times falling asleep while sitting or with my head between my hands, pretty hilarious. Around 6:30 pm or so we drove back to Natick.

Photo 219/ 365 ~ Monday, January 2, 2012

Finally the Boston Marathon Training started, I was happy as a clam. I put my schedule together while Luna was sleeping under the Christmas Tree. Yes, that’s right…we haven’t taken down the tree yet=) Well, besides loving having  the Christmas light on at night Christmas is not over, not until the Epiphany at least. In Italy the Epiphany is celebrated with the tradition of La Befana bringing presents to children. According to the legend, the night before the Wise Men arrived at the manger they stopped at the shack of an old woman to ask directions. They invited her to come along but she replied that she was too busy. Then a shepherd asked her to join him but again she refused. Later that night, she saw a great light in the sky and decided to join the Wise Men and the shepherd bearing gifts that had belonged to her child who had died. She got lost and never found the manger. So to this day, La Befana is searching for the little baby. She leaves all the good children toys and candy (“caramelle”) or fruit, while the bad children get coal (“carbone”). Oh and surprisingly it showed up to my house but only for me=)) Hmmm Dustin is swearing to not know anything about the hot pink iphone cover and a daily planner (that I really really really wanted) that I found in my stocking tonight ( Friday January 6th).

Photo 220/ 365 ~ Tuesday, January 3, 2012

My feet really needed a pedicure so I finally gave myself one=)

Photo 221/ 365 ~ Wednesday, January 4, 2012

I worked the closing shift so I went for my nice run and get a lot done. I made myself a Turkey sandwich for lunch (which I never have) but put too much turkey in it. Well, check out Luna trying to get to the turkey that mama didn’t want…it was too funny seeing her trying to get to it from the side…what did she think I wouldn’t see her haha that pups crack me up!

Photo 222/ 365 ~ Thursday, January 5, 2012

My day off! I got a lot done included some care for me. That night Dustin came home to a house with lighted candles in each room…it smelled really good! Did I mention that I LOVE candles=)

Photo 223/ 365 ~ Friday, January 6, 2012

And today is La Befana! So, a photo of  our porch Christmas light is needed, before we take them down. I worked an early shift, which I love and run after work. Now I am gonna finish this post up and have a well deserved night with my honey…getting ready for a really busy day tomorrow, 17 Miles, Crossfit and closing shift at lulu, thank God for Sunday off! Oh and today is 100 days before the Boston Marathon!

The seventh Month of My Project 365 is done! Here is the recap of all the photos I took in December.

3 thoughts on “Foto Friday ~ Project 365: Week 32 Recap

  1. Natascia, I want to thank you again for creating this beautiful, fun newsletter. I love to stop what I’m doing (studying, running after Piper, hollering at Eamonn to fix something – which is really fun! haha, applying for grad school, taking care of Mama now that she doesn’t have Papa…..). Well, now you see, the list really goes on and on. That’s life!! 😉 But when I stop and think it’s time to take care of me, I read your “back-issues” of the newsletter. I adore the picture of Luna trying the “side-sneak” of your turkey slices! Your pictures keep reminding me to stop and smell the roses. And to go get a monster-awesome-fantastico camera… Eamonn? heehee

    So, keep writing.

    Please email me privately at findevelyn@gmail.com with your Natick address. I want to keep sending our crazy, dog-filled Christmas Cards to friends at least until Valentine’s! Woohoo!

    kisses and hugs,
    ev

Leave a Reply

