Chicago Marathon Runner Tracking

Race week is here. The Chicago marathon is only four days away. And it just got me last night, when I said goodbye to my friend Fabiana and Dustin texted me that he was starting to get excited for Chicago, that early tomorrow morning Dustin and I will be off to the Windy City ! Yikes, I haven’t even started packing yet and have tons of things to do…I have a feeling it’s gonna be a long night! I am so thrilled though to race this Sunday!

Let the count down begin!

Last night I got an email from the Chicago Marathon saying that according to the advance local weather forecast, the weather on race day is projected to be partly cloudy, with low temperatures in the upper 30s to low 40s, and high temperatures in the low to mid 50s. They also finally added instructions to electronically track your runner. Therefore if you want to sign up to track me this Sunday the 7th, click here and enter my bib number: 4440

You can  track multiple runners along the race course by receiving real-time updates via text message, Facebook and Twitter. Updates will be received as runners has crossed the following points on the course:

  • 10K
  • Half-Marathon
  • 30K
  • Finish

Best luck to everyone who is running Chicago this year, especially my friend Amanda and Steph! Can’t wait to share this journey with you ladies!

Finally, few of my favorite quotes from one of the most inspirational runner that ever existed, Steve Prefontaine. He was not only a great runner, he was also a bit profound with his words when talking about his passion for running. I’ve listed a few of those little gems below:

“Some people create with words or with music or with a brush and paints. I like to make something beautiful when I run. I like to make people stop and say, ‘I’ve never seen anyone run like that before.’ It’s more than just a race, it’s a style. It’s doing something better than anyone else. It’s being creative.”

“A race is a work of art that people can look at and be affected in as many ways they’re capable of understanding.”

“Don’t let fatigue make a coward of you.”

“Running gives me confidence.”

“Success isn’t how far you got, but the distance you traveled from where you started.”

“You have to wonder at times what you’re doing out there. Over the years, I’ve given myself a thousand reasons to keep running, but it always comes back to where it started. It comes down to self-satisfaction and a sense of achievement.”

“Don’t be afraid to give up the good to go for the great.”

One thought on “Chicago Marathon Runner Tracking

Leave a Reply

